Dirk Pitt

The Dirk Pitt Series was Clive Cusslers first.  Spanning nearly 30 years from 1981 the early books are still just as exciting and action packed as the most recent books.

The books centre on the characthers Dirk Pitt and Al Giordino who work for NUMA – The National Underwater and Marine Agency.  In the course of this work they both travel the work stumbling across a variety of discoveries and adventures.

Clive Cussler co wrote his latter books with his son Dirk Cussler (whom Dirk Pitt was named after)

Although every book is a story in its own right, for the most enjoyment you may want to read them in chronological story order to see the characther’s relationships, and backstories develop throughout the series.  This is a slightly different order to the one they were written in.

The chronological order of the Clive Cussler Dirk Pitt books are

1. Pacific Vortex! (1981)
2. The Mediterranean Caper (1973) (aka Mayday!)
3. Iceberg (1975)
4. Raise the Titanic! (1976)
5. Vixen 03 (1976)
6. Night Probe! (1981)
7. Deep Six (1984)
8. Cyclops (1986)
9. Treasure (1988)
10. Dragon (1990)
11. Sahara (1992)
12. Inca Gold (1991)
13. Shock Wave (1995)
14. Flood Tide (1997)
15. Atlantis Found (1999)
16. Valhalla Rising (2001)
17. Trojan Odyssey (2003)
18. Black Wind (2004) (with Dirk Cussler)
19. The Treasure of Khan (2006) (with Dirk Cussler)
20. Arctic Drift (2008) (with Dirk Cussler)
21. Crescent Dawn (2010) (with Dirk Cussler)
22. Poseidon’s Arrow (2012) (with Dirk Cussler)
23. Havava Storm (2014) (with Dirk Cussler)

Shop Clive Cussler Books at Amazon